top of page

Committee Members and Committee Information

Dr. Richard Moss, Chair of the Committee, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory and Princeton University

Richard H. Moss is a visiting senior scientist at Columbia University's Earth Institute. Richard’s research focuses on (1) vulnerability and adaptation to global change; (2) uncertainty characterization and communication; and (3) scenarios/scenario planning. In addition to his research, he has held several public service positions including as Director of the US Global Change Research Program (spanning the Clinton and G.W. Bush Administrations), Head of technical support for Working Group II of IPCC, and director of climate/energy at the UN Foundation and World Wildlife Fund. He serves on several advisory boards, currently chairing the National Academy of Science's Board on Environmental Change and Society as well as this independent advisory committee on applied climate assessment. He is a fellow of the American Society for the Advancement of Science and the Aldo Leopold Leadership Program. He received his Ph.D. from Princeton University in public and international affairs.

  • Dr. Susan Avery, Former President, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

  • Ms. Kristin Baja, Climate Resilience Officer, Urban Sustainability Directors Network

  • Dr. Maxine Burkett, Professor of Law, University of Hawai’i,  William S. Richardson School of Law

  • Dr. Ann Marie Chischilly, Executive Director, Northern Arizona University-Institute for Tribal Environmental Professionals

  • Ms. Jan Dell, Chief Engineer, Wyland Foundation

  • Mr. Paul Allen Fleming, Climate Resilience Group Manager, Seattle Public Utilities

  • Ms. Kathy Jacobs, Director, Center for Climate Adaptation Science and Solutions, University of Arizona

  • Dr. Lucas Joppa, Chief Environmental Scientist, Microsoft Research

  • Dr. Kim Knowlton, Senior Scientist, Science Center Deputy Director, Assistant Professor, Columbia University's Mailman School of Public Health

  • Mr. Jay Koh, Co-Founder and Managing Director, The Lightsmith Group/Global Adaptation & Resilience Investment Working Group

  • Dr. Maria Carmen Lemos, Professor; Associate Dean for Research, University of Michigan, School for Environment and Sustainability

  • Dr. Jerry Melillo, Distinguished Scientist and Director Emeritus, The Ecosystems Center

  • TC Richmond, Partner, Van Ness Feldman

  • Dr. Lynn Scarlett, Co-Chief External Affairs Officer, The Nature Conservancy

  • Mr. Jared Snyder, Deputy Commissioner, Office of Air Resources, Climate Change and Energy, NY Dept of Environmental Conservation

  • Dr. Jessica Whitehead, Coastal Communities Hazards Adaptation Specialist, North Carolina Sea Grant

  • Mr. Daniel Zarrilli, Director, New York City Mayor’s Office of Recovery and Resiliency

bottom of page